Picture Perfect


I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the value of on-camera training as an actor. I focus so much on the theatre aspect of things (I’m from the Midwest… it’s what we do) instead of considering film and television. I’ve never been much of a film person until recently. Especially now that I have Netflix (genius!).

If the graduate program I choose is one that doesn’t include it, I think I’ll have to seek out that training on my own. I think I’m also going to look into training for voice-overs. And possibly acrobatics and aerial dance (not so much because I think I’ll need it… more because it’s SWEET!).

I’ve been told I have a good face for stage (big features, I guess), but I don’t know if it’s the same for film. I mean, I guess it works for Angelina Jolie…

Also, I’m too fat for Hollywood. Not that I think I’m fat… I just think that they’re all unrealistically skinny. I’d be a six-to-eight in a world of zeroes. (Weird to note: I was a zero-to-two a mere year and a half ago… And people were concerned that I might have an eating disorder. For the record, I didn’t. I just had much higher metabolism at the time.)

And they’re all so pretty in Hollywood. So perfect. When’s the last time you saw a lead actress in the movie that couldn’t be described as either “beautiful”, “hot”, “cute”, or “striking”? I wish the way I looked made more of an impression on people. The managers at my old apartment building could never remember me (although they always recognized my roommates), and it became sort of a joke between us how I was so unrecognizable (I suppose they really meant “generic” or “forgettable”). And I’m always being told, “you look so much like a friend of mine.” I’m always being compared to other people. I guess I just have one of those sorts of faces. I wish I looked more… distinctive, I guess. I would love to be “striking”. Like Donna Murphy. Or Uma Thurman.

But anyway. I often extol the virtues of the theatre, fighting on behalf of this art form for which I have such deep passion. I often overlook the other ways I could reach people through acting. If I’m serious about wanting to use acting as my way of changing the world, I think I should really explore all the paths through which I could accomplish that. I shouldn’t limit myself to just one medium.

So who knows. Maybe one day, you’ll see me in pictures.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My friend Amanda and I went to the AMC Best Picture nominee marathon yesterday. It started at 11am and finished at 11pm, showing the five films nominated for the most coveted Oscar. Are we crazy? Quite possibly. (We actually both saw Juno ahead of time — I saw it Friday night, making it the first time I’ve ever gone to the movie theater alone — so that we could take a two hour dinner break).

Here are my thoughts:

Michael Clayton
Generally good. I personally feel that George Clooney is overrated as an actor, but he was fine here (I just wish there hadn’t been so many close up shots of his face). Tilda Swinton is truly excellent, and I hope she pulls an upset. Tom Wilkinson is also nominated, as a man losing his mind, and he’s fantastic as well (and I’d love to see him beat out Javier Bardem, but I’ll get to that later). The editing and storytelling are good. But I failed to pick up on the importance of one seemingly innocuous detail — a sketch in the margin of a book as it’s being leafed through — and Amanda had to remind me of it when the movie was over (I don’t remember the sketch at all… and the movie makes a ton more sense as a result. My parents had seen the movie, and they didn’t remember it either. Maybe it just wasn’t highlighted well enough). The music was good. It was at times suspenseful. I’d see it again, if only for the sake of clarification.

There Will Be Blood
Yes, there is pay-off for the title. By the end of the movie, there is indeed blood. Daniel Day Lewis shows off a truly grand performance in the corruption and decline of an oil man. Paul Dano isn’t really on equal footing with him, but he’s pretty good. The movie is far too long (three hours, I believe) and the director (Paul T. Anderson) was clearly over-indulgent with his shots. The score was creepy and well done (although it was deemed not eligible for an Oscar nomination). All in all, a good film. But I wouldn’t see it again… Spending three hours of my life with this flick was enough; six would be too many. (By the way, the “I drink your milkshake” line is better in context. And actually really sort of terrifying.)

Atonement
EASILY my favorite. This movie is so good. I thought it was going to be some sappy chick flick, but it’s not. The movie is about a character who observes the love story, as opposed to being about the love story itself (and who would’ve thought I’d love a movie that so prominently featured the C-word?) The acting is excellent (how did James McAvoy not get a nomination? He’s stupendous in this), and I now understand why Saoirse Ryan was nominated (although I don’t think she should win, based on the other nominees in her category). The sound editing/sound mixing/score = superb (sounds in the scenes play into the score in a way that I don’t think I’ve ever experienced in a movie before, with sensational results — How was it not nominated for Sound Mixing or Sound Editing?). The cinematography is incredible (including an extraordinary 5.5 minute tracking shot through a beach at Dunkirk. The whole movie is gorgeous). The editing and storytelling are phenomenal (you see several scenes from more than one point of view, and it unfolds nicely), and there are a couple of scenes where it felt like a “classic” film. And it’s at times suspenseful, causing me to lean forward while literally sitting on the edge of my seat. The costumes are exquisite (including the breath-taking green dress that everyone seems to be talking about). This is the best movie I’ve seen in a long time. As soon as it ended, I wanted to immediately watch it again. Phenomenal. Go see it.

Juno
A delightful little film, although certainly not one that makes you think “Oscar”. Ellen Page is wonderful in it. The writing is extremely stylized and over-the-top, but once you become acclimated to it, it’s fun (if you’re willing to suspend your disbelief). Michael Cera is the same character he always plays, but he’s well-cast, so it didn’t bother me (I haven’t seen any range in him as an actor, but he’s so charmingly dorky that I can’t help but adore him). Allison Janney and Jason Bateman are both great, and I also enjoyed Olivia Thirlby’s performance as Juno’s best friend Leah. I walked out of the theatre with a strange mix of emotions that I couldn’t reconcile. I felt simultaneously lonely, detached from humanity, and maternal. I had a bizarre urge to have a child, but let someone else raise it. I’d see it again. (My favorite line: “Have a condom. They’re boysenberry. My boyfriend uses them every time we have intercourse. They make his junk smell like pie.”)

No Country for Old Men
HATED it. One of the most boring movies that I have EVER seen. Horrible. Javier Bardem won a Golden Globe for his role as a remorseless killer, but he was just okay. The most interesting thing about the movie is a character that’s only in about half the movie (I won’t ruin it for you in case you decide to go against my advice and see it anyway). It was incredibly slow-moving. Woody Harrelson wastes what could’ve been one of the interesting roles in the movie. The ending is completely bland and unsatisfying. There was nothing redeeming about this movie. Nothing. It was terrible. There’s a fair amount of gore and guns, which I guess is why certain male friends of mine seemed to like it. I can’t figure it out. At the end of the movie, I felt gypped. I think that any and all Oscar nominations for this film are wholly unsubstantiated, and will be greatly angered if it wins… anything. And it’s rumored to be a front-runner in several races (God only knows why).

I just got Away from Her via Netflix, so I intend to watch that today (as I’ve heard that Julie Christie is a front-runner in her category).

My only other Oscar comment? I’m rooting for “Falling Slowly” from Once to win for Best Song. You may have noticed it was on my playlist for awhile (and will be again, I’m sure). It’s a gorgeous song that is truly integral to the plot. To be fair, I don’t know any of the other nominated songs… But “Falling Slowly” needs to win. It’s just… lovely.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My life feels complicated.
Not that such a thing is unusual.
I feel like I’m telling the same stories to people over and over again.
I’m looking for some answer that isn’t there.
Some obvious explanation as to how to solve my problems.
A way to make everything into the way I’d like it to be instead of the way it is.

I keep reflecting on things that have happened.
I’ve replayed events in my mind so much that I can’t recall their original order anymore.
I’ve wondered if I made the right decisions.
I hope that I’m not steering life in the wrong direction.
(And after seeing Atonement, I’m now keenly aware of how misunderstandings and missteps can alter the course of life.)

I hope that I somehow end up away from this.
That years from now, I’ll live a life without confusion.
And without regret.

I hope that I’ll lose this aching pain of loneliness.
I hope I’ll know who I am and what I want.
I hope I’ll find a way to explain myself to others without resorting to typing.
I hope to have things to do and people to see.
I hope to find a base of friends that I can trust.
I hope I’ll be intellectually stimulated on a regular basis.
I hope that I’ll pair off with someone who fits me perfectly, as though it were meant to be.

May the future you picture be one you hope to live in.

~A~

P.S. You may have noticed that my playlist is sort of… missing. Replaced by one song: “Desperately” by Michelle Branch. Perhaps you should listen to it and then help me figure out why it’s been hitting me so hard lately. I don’t know how accurately it reflects my state of being, but it’s tugged on my spirit when I’ve listened to it in recent days. (Don’t worry… the playlist will return to its regularly scheduled programming at some point.)

14 Responses to “Picture Perfect”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I’m a photographer, and I think you’re striking. You’ve got great large eyes, and full lips. If I lived anywhere near you, I’d take pictures of you for my portfolio. I am assuming of course that you will let me. :p

  2. Swanny Says:

    I think you know that my standing invitation to help you get some “on-camera” work under your, uh, belt is still good.

  3. Katie Says:

    haha… yeah, i would get up and start dancing to anything and everything if i weren’t sitting in the middle of the med school cafeteria… it might be frowned upon by all the serious studiers.

    we haven’t hit neuro yet (that starts in march)… come then i might learn how to fix my brain… but until then, i’m screwed (i have a test on wednesday).

    πŸ™‚

  4. Jamie Lovely Says:

    I totally wish I would have known about that marathon! I was just telling the boyfriend I’m bummed because I’ve only seen Juno out of all of them!

  5. freeandflawed.com Says:

    Kudos to you for spending 10+ hours in a theater! I heard about the marathon, but man…it’s hard to sit through that many movies, let alone one!

    P.S. Thanks for adding that list! I enjoy them oh so much πŸ™‚

  6. Ashley Says:

    i would agree with lisa and say that i think you really are gorgeous.

    that being said, i think even the most beautiful people in hollywood have their body issues – probably even more so than those of us willing to go to the drugstore in our sweats because we could care less.

    also – i’m reading atonement right now but won’t see the film until i finish….the book so far is amaazing.

  7. Cheryl Says:

    I was SO HAPPY that Falling Slowly won. That was the best part of the night I think! I really liked the book Atonement, so I can’t wait for it on Netflix. Welcome to the world of red envelopes…

  8. Nico Says:

    Because I live so close to Hollywood, I would say that you would probably do much better and be more distinct than the cookie-cutter skinny blonds that traipse around this city. And stage acting experience has helped some people that I know out here get past being extras, so who knows? Maybe it’s not all about the artificial when considering film.

    Would be rad to see you on the silver screen, though. I’d be such a fan-boy.

  9. R.E.H. Says:

    First of all… I don’t think you look “generic”, and certainly not “forgettable”.

    You do have distinct features, and an interesting face – so there you have it. And, maybe some day I’ll be a big-shot film-maker in Hollywood… so…

    But, about the strikingly hot and cute actresses that are overpopulating Hollywood these days – I think it is about time to bring back the plain looking ones.

    I find that they are losing the “touch of reality”, with all these attractive people. I mean, if they made a re-make of Stanley Kubrik’s The Shining today – don’t you think they might employ Catherine Zeta Jones or someone as equally stunning as the wife.

    They sure wouldn’t go with someone like Shelley Duvall if they made it today.

    It’s a shame – if you want to portray the average housewife, get an actress that doesn’t look like a Victoria’s Secret model.

  10. Swanny Says:

    a) i’d do you

    b) i saw this and thought of you

  11. Nat Says:

    I wouldn’t be so critical on your looks hindering your chances in Hollywood. You have to keep in mind that the photos you see in mags are all touched up and even with film, the amount of make-up piled on, the right lighting and camera angles anyone can look that stunning. Lots of the “hot” celebs are kinda average looking I find when mags decide to do the “Stars With No Makeup” issues.

  12. pinksundrops Says:

    You do have a unique and gorgeous look. It seems that beauty comes along with being well known (along with the money that come with it) as far as actresses and actors go. There’s not many of them that would actually stop anybody in their tracks if we didn’t know who they were.

  13. pbandrazz Says:

    you are striking…i agree with lisa.

    as for your movie reviews, i cannot believe you hated No Country for Old Men. i loved it. loved it. but then again, i love bizarre movies.

  14. ~Angela~ Says:

    To Lisa – Thank you so much! If you’re ever in the same place as me (IL, FL, and CT are your best bets), you may of course take pictures. I’d love to pose for you.

    To Swanny – Good to know. πŸ˜‰

    To Katie – Good luck!!!

    To Jamie Lovely – They do it every year at AMC the day before the Oscars. And there’s free popcorn!

    To freeandflawed – Glad you like the list of blessings. You were the inspiration. I’ll have to start taking some out eventually, but I think they’re nice decoration at the moment.

    To Ashley – Thanks! And I think you’re right about celebs having even more body issues than us. And you’ll l-o-v-e Atonement!

    To Cheryl – Falling Slowly rocks my socks! And Atonement is fierce.

    To Nico – I’d love to have you as a fan-boy. And therefore, I’ll do what I can to get on the silver screen.

    To R.E.H. – I’m now counting on you being a filmmaker so that I can get famous.

    To Swanny – Thanks for sharing. On both counts. πŸ™‚

    To Nat – Good point. Airbrushing like woah on those mag covers.

    To PinkSunDrops – You’re probably right. I’ll try to get over it.

    To PB&Razz – Thanks. And if you could tell me what you loved about NCFOM, I’d love to hear it. I’m confused by the appeal.

Leave a comment